Posted in Cebu, Me., Stress Release

A mini rant, that’s all

For the last couple of weeks, I have sent applications to not less than 15 local-based companies but haven’t heard from any one. Not a single phone call. This is disappointing. I don’t know what’s wrong or whether I missed anything or what? I may not have the most appealing resumé, but I think it’s not the worst out there. Or is it? Was it the font I used? Was it that terrible? 

You see, from where I’m from, job qualifications can be outrageous. And employers quite discriminating. 

True story: In 2015, I tried applying for an office post for a Japanese-owned English school. When I got there, I wasn’t even offered a seat. I was holding on to my resumé when the boss came up to me and said, I had to wear better clothes (like a skirt or dress) and wear makeup to look presentable. What the hell, woman? I wanted to punch her in the face. 

Another true story: I went to an interview for a data analyst post and the questions were borderline comedy. ‘Do you have a passport?’ ‘Do you hold any visa to any country?’ ‘Which countries have you visited?’ ‘Are you the youngest child?’ And finishes our talk with ‘I don’t think you need a job.’ Needless to say, I walked out on her. What an asshat. 

So, yeah. I love my little island (sun, humidity and all) but it definitely isn’t the best when you’re gay… and job hunting. 

Leave a Reply

